What is the Erie Canalway National Heritage Corridor?

The U.S. Congress recognized the Erie Canal's significance to our nation by establishing the Erie Canalway National Heritage Corridor in 2000. The Corridor spans 524 miles across the full expanse of the upstate New York. It includes the Erie, Cayuga-Seneca, Oswego, and Champlain Canals and their historic alignments. The Corridor encompasses 4,834 square miles in 23 counties and is home to 3.2 million people.

Upstate New York's largest population centers - Buffalo, Rochester, Syracuse, and the state capital Albany - all grew up along the canal and are within the Canalway Corridor today.



234 Municipalities

From Buffalo in the west to Albany in the East.


4,834 Square miles

eight regional planning board areas, and six New York State tourism regions


23 Part of 23 counties

eight regional planning board areas, and six New York State tourism regions


524 Continuous miles

of navigable waterway




It's our "park."

The federal government does not own or manage national heritage area lands as it does with traditional national parks. Because the Erie Canalway consists of both public and private lands, it is up to all of us to ensure that canals, towpaths, structures, and other historical and natural features remain preserved and accessible to everyone.

Corridor Resources include:

  • 34 National Historic Landmarks
  • 524 continuous miles of navigable waterway
  • Over 800 listings on the National Register of Historic Places, including over 1,400 properties
  • Four National Parks, one National Forest, two National Wildlife Refuges, one National Scenic Trail, and four National Natural Landmarks
  • 11 State Wildlife Management Areas, nine New York State Historic Sites, and 24 State Parks.
  • Hundreds of miles of urban and back-country trails, including the country's longest continuous pedestrian and bicycle trail.

Privacy Policy >