The Power of Public-Private Partnership

The Erie Canalway National Heritage Corridor Commission and its non-profit partner, the Erie Canalway Heritage Fund work together with federal, state, and local agencies and organizations to plan for, encourage, and assist in historic preservation, conservation, recreation, interpretation, tourism and community development throughout the National Heritage Corridor.

Erie Canalway National Heritage Corridor Commission

Created by Congress in 2000, the federally-appointed Erie Canalway Commission is tasked with managing activities of the National Heritage Corridor. It receives financial support and technical assistance through the National Park Service, subject to annual Congressional appropriations.

ChairKal WysokowskiCanandaigua
Vice ChairHarry Sicherman
Lockport (NY-27)
SecretarySusan Herlands Holland Ithaca (Sen. Gillibrand)
TreasurerCarl Blowers
Montour Falls (NY-23)
Secretary of the Interior Designee (ex officio)Gay VietzkeNational Park Service
Immediate Past-Chair (ex officio)Barbara BlanchardAlbany (Sen. Schumer)
Paul Beyer NYS Department of State
Fred Bonn NYS Office of Parks, Recreation, and Historic Preservation
Clinton BrownNY-26 (Buffalo)
John CallaghanAt-Large (Waterford)
Laura DiBettaNYS Department of Environmental Conservation
James FarrNY-25 (Rochester)
Bonney HartleyAt-Large
Sean KelleherNY-21
Dr. Cornelius Murphy, Jr.NY-24
Steven RanalliEmpire State Development
Pieter SmeenkAt-Large (Fairport)
Mary Elizabeth StewartNY-20 (Albany)
Brian StrattonNYS Canal Corporation
Alan VincentNY-22
Peter Wiles Jr.At-Large
pendingNYS Agriculture and Markets
pendingNYS Department of Transportation

Erie Canalway Heritage Fund Board

The Erie Canalway Heritage Fund is a 501 (c)(3) nonprofit that assists in carrying out the work of the Commission. The Heritage Fund secures additional private and public resources and helps implement the Corridor's award-winning Preservation and Management Plan.

ChairJudy McKinney-CherryWatkins Glen
Vice ChairPaul ComstockHouston, Texas
SecretaryKimberly M. SeagerSouth Dakota
TreasurerMark HettlerLiverpool
Immediate Past-Chair (ex officio)Paul R. NeureuterEast Amherst
Board of Directors
Carl BlowersMontour Falls
Robert ElliottCroton-on Hudson
Marilyn HigginsCanastota
Susan Herlands HollandIthaca
Kate MorseGreenwich
Harry SichermanLockport
Erin TobinAlbany
Kal Wysokowski Canandaigua