The Power of Public-Private Partnership

The Erie Canalway National Heritage Corridor Commission and its non-profit partner, the Erie Canalway Heritage Fund work together with federal, state, and local agencies and organizations to plan for, encourage, and assist in historic preservation, conservation, recreation, interpretation, tourism and community development throughout the National Heritage Corridor.

2017 Corridor Commission

Created by Congress in 2000, the federally-appointed Erie Canalway Commission is tasked with managing activities of the National Heritage Corridor. It receives financial support and technical assistance through the National Park Service, subject to annual Congressional appropriations.

ChairPieter SmeenkFairport
Vice ChairBarbara BlanchardAlbany
SecretaryAlan VincentLittle Falls
TreasurerHarry SichermanLockport
Ex Officio
Secretary of the Interior Designee
Paul Beyer NYS Department of State
Clinton BrownBuffalo
Fred BonnNYS Office of Parks, Recreation, and Historic Preservation
Jackie CzubNYS Department of Agriculture & Markets
James FarrRochester
Thomas X. GrassoRochester
Carol B. GreenoughWhitehall
Doug HamlinSkaneateles
Marilyn HigginsCanastota
John McGlonePalatine Bridge
Frank ProtoSlaterville
Peter RyanNYS Department of Transportation
Mary Elizabeth StewartAlbany
Brian StrattonNYS Canal Corporation
Peter Wiles Jr.Macedon
Kal WysokowskiCanandaigua
Paul WebsterNiskayuna

Erie Canalway Heritage Fund Board

The Erie Canalway Heritage Fund is a 501 (c)(3) nonprofit that assists in carrying out the work of the Commission. The Heritage Fund secures additional private and public resources and helps implement the Corridor's award-winning Preservation and Management Plan.

ChairThomas D. BlanchardBuffalo
Vice Chair Robert ElliottCroton-on Hudson
SecretaryKimberly M. SeagerOswego
TreasurerPaul NeureuterEast Amherst

Board of Directors
Kent BarwickNew York City
Barbara BlanchardAlbany
Carl H. Blowers Montour Falls
Lee DeAmicisSyracuse
Judy McKinney-CherryWatkins Glen
Brad PackardBuffalo
Harry SichermanLockport
Pieter SmeenkFairport
Alan N. VincentLittle Falls
Peter WelsbyYoungstown