The Erie Canal once officially began in Albany, turned west at Cohoes and snaked alongside the Mohawk River. Today, the channelized Mohawk River is the Erie “Barge” Canal. The region’s location along the Hudson and Mohawk rivers and the canal turned it into America’s industrial powerhouse in the 1800s. You’ll find the region’s legacy of culture, arts, academics, and architecture matched by the extraordinary scenic landscapes of the Mohawk River Valley.
Showcases a premier collection of art and historical artifacts documenting life and culture of the Upper Hudson Valley region; renowned for its collection of the Hudson River School of painting. The Institute holds diverse collections related to the Erie Canal, including paintings, drawings, and historical objects. Research library houses primary source materials related to the Erie Canal. Online resource collection also available. Special Erie Canal exhibition in 2017. Visit Site >
1931. This 2,700-seat theater, designed by architect John Eberson, is the last remaining movie palace in the city. Fully restored to its original grandeur, it now serves as a cultural and entertainment facility offering diverse popular acts and cultural events. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Visit Site >
Impressive American Art Museum located on the Erie Canal/Mohawk River. Includes works by Winslow Homer, Geroge Inness, Georgia O'Keefe, leading American Impressionists and paintings and prints featuring views of the Mohawk River and Erie Canal. Exhibitions change throughout the year. Visit Site >
Sample small town life and friendly hospitality in Mohawk Valley villages that grew up along the original Erie Canal, including Fonda, Fultonville, Canajoharie, Palatine Bridge, Fort Plain, Nelliston, and St. Johnsville. Several have historic districts listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Enjoy historic sites, local food and crafts, antique-hunting, and village and waterfront parks. Pick up information at the Regional Visitors Center at Canajoharie, 89 Church Street. Explore by boat, bike, or car-- the villages are connected by the canal, Canalway Trail, and routes 5 and 5S. Visit Site >
Canajoharie’s location, where the Canajoharie Creek joins the Mohawk River, made this spot a transportation hub where farmers brought their produce to ship to larger markets. The Erie Canal, built in the 1820s, helped Canajoharie become a thriving industrial center. Beech-Nut Packing Company was founded here in 1891. During the 1930s, Beech-Nut started packaging its famous line of mashed baby food made from local produce. Visit Canajoharie to enjoy local restaurants and shops, parks, authentic streetscapes, and historic architecture.
This National Scenic Byway is a 26-mile driving route that follows the Mohawk River/Erie Canal from Waterford and Cohoes to Schenectady. Discover the waterway west, the Erie Canal and the role that local communities played in the westward expansion of the country and in the Industrial Revolution. Audio tour available at (518) 649-9990. Visit Site >
1874. In its early years, the hall offered dramatic and musical productions, attracting vaudeville stars and popular acts. The hall's initial run lasted just 30 years, closing in 1905 due to a sagging roof truss. Remarkably, the hall reopened to the public 69 years later in 1974 after being fully restored. The music hall is owned by the City of Cohoes and is open for occasional performances. Visit Site >
The park overlooks the spectacular 75-foot Cohoes Falls on the Mohawk River. Stairs and a hiking path leading to the base of the falls are open in the summer (conditions dependent). The neighboring power facility and park received an Erie Canalway Heritage Award in 2008 for showcasing corporate leadership in community revitalization. Located in the heart of the Harmony Mills Historic District of Cohoes. Visit Site >
One of New York's premier canal sites, where you can see the remains of the impressive Schoharie Aqueduct, locks from 1825 and 1841, and hike, bike, and picnic on the banks of the present-day canal. Tour the visitor center and partially-restored canal store at historic Lock 28. Visit Site >
From the settlements of the Mohawks to the arrival of the Palatine Germans in the 1700s to the establishment of a fort during the Revolutionary War, Fort Plain has served as a central point in the middle Mohawk Valley. When the Erie Canal opened in 1825, it spurred agricultural and industrial development. Fort Plain factories produced agricultural goods, textiles, machinery, and furniture that were shipped on the canal. The original Erie Canal ran through the center of town, but moved into the Mohawk River in 1918. Visit Fort Plain to enjoy local restaurants and shops, beautiful parks, authentic streetscapes, historic architecture, and natural waterfronts.
(315) 823-4309 (Antiques Center)
This Erie Canalway Heritage Award-winning site features an antiques center, boutique shops, and restaurants housed in historic mill buildings along the Erie Canal. Events throughout the summer. A short walk or bike ride to Lock 17 and Moss Island National Natural Landmark. Visit Site >
Constructed in 1915, Lock 17 was once the highest single lift lock in the world at 40.5 feet. The lock is at the lower end of a mile long land-cut, built to pass the multiple drops and rapids that make up the "Little Falls" of the Mohawk River. A heavy counterbalanced guillotine gate, hung from overhead chains and riding on rails on the inside of a bulkhead make this lock unique.
600-acre preserve with three areas of interest: extensive freshwater wetlands/prime bird habitat, the remains of the Erie Canal, and the site of the town’s first settlement. Segments of the original 1825 Erie Canal and towpath, the 1842 Enlarged Erie Canal, and today's Erie Canal are accessible within the preserve. The entrance to the preserve includes a restored 1862 Whipple Truss Bridge, a design used widely to bridge the canal during the latter half of the 19th century. Visit Site >
A consignment folk art gallery featuring New York Traditions, with over 65 folk and traditional artists represented, including Iroquois (Haudenosaunee) bead workers and basket makers, wood carvers, quilters and other fiber artists, stone carvers, and furniture makers. Visit Site >
1926. This ornately designed and lavishly decorated Atmospheric vaudeville theater continues as a thriving arts center offering music, movies and Broadway musicals. It is also the home of the Schenectady Symphony and the Northeast Ballet. Public tours of the theater are hosted once a month. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Visit Site >
Learn about the impact of the Erie Canal on Schenectady at the history museum located in the city's historic Stockade District. At the Mabee Farm, explore the home, barn, and grounds of a 300+ year old Dutch farm along the banks of the Mohawk River/Erie Canal. Visit Site >
Constructed between 1881 and 1882 in the Romanesque Revival style, the former office of the Burden Iron Works contains an extensive exhibit on Troy’s industrial history throughout the 19th century. Much of the cutting-edge technology of the day was developed at the city’s Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute. Walking tours also available. Call ahead to visit or schedule a tour. Visit Site >
1875. The Music Hall's acclaimed acoustics have attracted many of the world's best musicians. Designed in the Beaux Arts and French Renaissance styles, the Music Hall offers a variety of musical performances year round. Listed as a National Historic Landmark. Visit Site >
Permanent collection stems from objects collected by three generations of one Utica family. The family patriarch, Alfred Munson, acquired his fortune from industrial interests including canal development. The Institute consists of an Art Museum, a School of Art, and Performing Arts Center. Visit Site >
Visit the eastern gateway to the Erie Canal and see the many canal sites of interest in this area, including the Waterford Flight, Waterford Historical Museum and Cultural Center, Cohoes Falls, and Old Champlain Canal. Annual events include Canal Fest in May, Steamboat Meet in July, and Tugboat Roundup in September. Visit Site >
(518) 237-7000 ext. 220
158 acre park at the confluence of the Hudson and Mohawk Rivers; spectacular river and rapids views from trails that traverse gently rolling and wooded landscape. Primarily upland oak forest, with several small wetlands and open grassland habitat. Trails open for walking and jogging. Also: picnicking, fishing, cross-country skiing, and snowshoing. Visit Site >
Start your visit to Waterford and the Waterford Flight of locks here. Services for boaters include water, showers, electric, and pump-out. Merchandise, phone/computer, free wifi, and information at the dockside Visitor Center. Boat launch. Kayak rentals nearby. Visit Site >
Located in the 1830s Hugh White homestead along the Old Champlain Canal, the museum's permanent exhibit, Born of Two Rivers, features the history of Waterford. Inquire about education programs and rotating exhibits related to local history and the canal. Visit Site >