Constructed in 1915, Lock 17 was once the highest single lift lock in the world at 40.5 feet. The lock is at the lower end of a mile long land-cut, built to pass the multiple drops and rapids that make up the "Little Falls" of the Mohawk River. A heavy counterbalanced guillotine gate, hung from overhead chains and riding on rails on the inside of a bulkhead make this lock unique.
Visit the eastern gateway to the Erie Canal and see the many canal sites of interest in this area, including the Waterford Flight, Waterford Historical Museum and Cultural Center, Cohoes Falls, and Old Champlain Canal. Annual events include Canal Fest in May, Steamboat Meet in July, and Tugboat Roundup in September. Visit Site >
The impressive Nine Mile Creek aqueduct, constructed in 1841, was restored in 2009 and is the only working aqueduct on the Old Erie Canal. Boat rides in summer. Located in Camillus Erie Canal Park, which also has a segment of the original Clinton’s Ditch, and seven miles of canal and trail. Visit Site >
Explore the old Erie Canal. Thirty-six miles of the original channel, five stone arch aqueducts, and a number of other historic structures remain in service here, delivering water from upland reservoirs to today’s canal. Stretching from DeWitt, just east of Syracuse, to New London and the outskirts of Rome, Old Erie Canal State Park gives a first-hand sense of the scale and character of the ditch that opened a continent. The park includes the Erie Canalway Trail, which follows the old towpath and is suitable for bicycling, walking, and jogging. Picnicking, canoeing, fishing, and snowmobiling are other popular activities. Visit Site >
Accessible from Rooker Drive, off NY 31 or NY Thruway eastbound between exits 41 and 40, Port Byron. Pass through a brand-new visitor center to examine the side-by-side stone chambers of Enlarged Erie Canal Lock 52 and visit the Erie House, a tavern and hotel with mule barns and a blacksmith shop, built beside the lock. Visit Site >
Extensive collection and exhibits on all facets of the Erie Canal. Housed in the only remaining Weighlock Building (1850) where canal boats were weighed during the days when they traveled through the center of Syracuse on the Erie Canal. Visit Site >
A 75-foot stone and wood aqueduct once carried the Erie Canal over North Brook in the historic canal town of Weedsport. Today, you can see remains of the aqueduct and access a 2 mile section of the Old Erie Canal Trail from Centreport Park just west of Weedsport to Schasel Park in Port Byron. Visit Site >
Lockport's renowned Flight of Five locks are located alongside the similarly remarkable Barge Canal Locks 34 and 35. These locks enable canal boats to climb the Niagara Escarpment. Restoration is underway on the Flight of Five; lock demonstrations available on weekends. Erie Canal Discovery Center, boat tours, Lockport Cave Tours, winery, shops, Canalway Trail, and other attractions nearby. Visit Site >
Dating to 1849, this double-chambered stone lock served boats on the Erie Canal until 1918. A canalside store next to the lock is now a private residence. Located two miles west of the Village of Lyons.
The remains of impressive double Lock 60, built in 1841, have been preserved through a 25-year community volunteer effort. Located within a one-mile stretch along the Erie Canal and Canalway Trail that features numerous preserved canal structures from the 1800s. Located off Quaker Road between Walworth and O'Neil Roads.
Boats on the Erie Canal pass over Culvert Road about two miles east of Medina between Routes 31 and 104, the only place where a road passes under the canal.
Aqueduct Park contains the remains of Palmrya Aqueduct, built in 1857, that carried the canal over Ganargua Creek, as well as the Aldrich Change Bridge, a unique towpath-era remnant originally erected at the Rochester Weighlock in the 1850s.
Hike original towpath trails to view the Richmond Aqueduct, Clinton’s Ditch Lock 62, and other historic canal features in the 160-acre nature park. Built from 1849 to 1857 and partially dismantled in 1917, the original aqueduct had 31 massive arches to support the canal as it crossed the Seneca River. Seven of these arches and their related piers and abutments remain today. The park is located within the Seneca River Crossing Canals Historic District. Visit Site >
Constructed in 1824 and widened 1832, the Feeder Canal still remains in service to supply water from the Hudson River to the Champlain Canal. Its 14 surviving lock chambers retain the smaller dimensions of Clinton's Ditch. A nine-mile bike path and walking trail provide access to the feeder canal from the Town of Queensbury through Glens Falls to Fort Edward. Visit Site >
The remains of a towpath era lock can be seen along side the present day Lock 5. Mechanical house is open to the public.
For over a mile the Old Champlain Canal and its towpath run from Gen. Philip Schuyler House in the Village of Schuylerville to present day Lock 5.