Mohawk River, Peebles Island State Park, Waterford
Erie Canalway Home Erie Canalway Explore Learn Get Involved Erie Canalway About Us Erie Canalway Gallery Erie Canalway Contact
    watch video
Who We Are
What We Do
What is the Erie Canalway National Heritage Corridor?
News and Publications
Preservations and Management Plan
Contact Us

about us: Who we are
Two organizations, one purpose: The Erie Canalway National Heritage Corridor Commission and the Erie Canalway Heritage Fund work in partnership to preserve our extraordinary heritage, to promote the Corridor as a world class tourism destination, and to foster vibrant communities connected by the waterway.
The Power of Public-Private Partnership
Created by Congress in 2000, the federally-appointed Erie Canalway Commission is tasked with managing activities of the National Heritage Corridor. It receives financial support and technical assistance through the National Park Service, subject to annual Congressional appropriations.
The Heritage Fund is a 501 (c)(3) nonprofit that assists in carrying out the work of the Commission. By leveraging public funds with private dollars, the Heritage Fund enables the National Heritage Corridor to take on larger, more far reaching projects and to achieve greater results.


2015-16 Corridor Commission


Chair Russell Andrews, Syracuse
Vice Chair Barbara Blanchard, Cohoes
Secretary Alan Vincent, Little Falls
Treasurer Pieter Smeenk, Fairport
Ex Officio Michael Caldwell, Secretary of the Interior Designee


Fred Bonn*, NYS Office of Parks, Recreation, and Historic Preservation
Clinton Brown, Buffalo
Jackie Czub, NYS Department of Agriculture & Markets
James Farr, Rochester
Anthony Giardina, NYS Dept. of State
Thomas X. Grasso, Rochester
Carol B. Greenough, Whitehall
Marilyn Higgins, Syracuse
William “Sam” B. Hoyt III, Empire State Development Corporation
John McGlone, Palatine Bridge
Frank Proto, Slaterville
Harry Sicherman, Lockport
Mary Elizabeth Stewart, Albany
Brian Stratton, NYS Canal Corporation
Honorable Ann Thane, Amsterdam
Peter Wiles Jr., Macedon
*Pending Approval by Secretary of Interior

Erie Canalway Heritage Fund Board
Chair Thomas D. Blanchard, Buffalo
Vice Chair Robert Elliott, Croton-on Hudson
Secretary Kimberly M. Seager, Oswego
Treasurer Pete Welsby, Youngstown

Russell S. Andrews, Syracuse
Kent Barwick, New York City
Barbara Blanchard, Cohoes
Lee DeAmicis, Syracuse
Paul Neureuter, East Amherst
Brad Packard, Buffalo
D. Kenneth Patton, New York City
David S. Sampson, Troy
Pieter Smeenk, Fairport
Alan N. Vincent, Little Falls
Dorian Wells, Albany


John Winthrop Aldrich, Albany, NY
Thomas F. Judson Jr., Rochester, NY
Nicholas S. Winslow, Pasadena, CA

tile tile tile
Discover What We're Made Of

Watch our 2-minute video to discover what we're all about.
  Commission & Board Meeting  

January 27, 2016
Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel and Conference Center
801 University Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13210

Diane Jennings,
518-237-7000, ext. 207

  The Commission and Heritage Fund Board meet quarterly to plan and direct activities. The public is welcome to attend.  
Erie Canaways e-news sign up Corridor Map FOIA and Accessibility Information